random bit-reflections

I had to get my picture taken. <blergh> Naturally, I looked in the mirror first. I surprisingly looked good, at least I thought so. Upon reviewing the photo, I was conflicted. This image on a screen was hideous. My eyes were small and sunken, my mouth was even smaller that I’d ever imagined, my face overall just looked sickly. “That’s not what I look like!” was my first thought. After a few seconds, as logic and reason returned to me, I started to ponder-was that actually how I look? Was it the mirror that was completely falsified? Have I been thinking, for all this time, that I look like this; when in reality I appear completely different? Then it struck me-I can, and never will, see myself exactly how others see me. No camera can exactly replicate the human eye’s perception of me, even if the angle and position is correct. The mirror is imperfect and flips the true image. I can never see me. This begs the question-how do you fix what you can’t see? Mind you, I’ve finished being a superficial narcissist, and I’m talking about more than just my hair or eyes; I’m talking about my persona, the impression my life leaves in the mind of another. There are flaws in that, surely…so how do I fix the flaws I can’t perceive? By letting Light illuminate those wrongs. By cleansing the source. By allowing the source of that life, that identity, to change into a purified and right state. The need is to plead guilty, allow the Judge to convict me, turn from that wrong way, and rest in the peace of forgiveness. 
One’s life is a crystal clear image of their heart. You can’t fix the polluted water by pouring in clean water-you must find and eliminate the source of the contaminate.

Psalm 51:10

Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.

 

Proverbs 4:23

Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life.

 

Leave a Reply

